Centers for Disease Control (CDC) REACH Committee

In September 2014 the Colorado Black Health Collaborative (CBHC) received a financial award for cardiovascular disease prevention/reduction in Colorado’s Black community.

The Racial and Ethnic Approaches to Community Health (REACH) award is part of a U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) initiative to support public health efforts to reduce chronic diseases, promote healthier lifestyles, reduce health disparities, and control health care spending. The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) will administer the grants, which will run for 3 years.

This is a great opportunity to work with our dedicated partners to enhance and expand our work and to achieve our mission of health equity in Colorado’s Black community – Thelma Craig, CBHC Chair of the Board.

Project Coalition Members and Committee Members

  • Rosine Angbanzan: African Populations
  • Kraig Burleson: Inner City Health Center
  • Deanna Butler: Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) – Office of Health Equity (OHE)
  • Alfredia Conner, R.N.: Barbershop/salon Health Outreach Program
  • Byron Conner, M.D.: Barbershop/salon Health Outreach Program
  • Nadine Cornish: The Caregiver’s Guardian
  • Lorena X DeAnda: Kaiser Permanente (KP) National Diversity & Inclusion
  • Bob Doyle: Tobacco Education and Prevention Alliance
  • Brother Jeff Fard: Brother Jeff Cultural Center
  • Kim Farmer: Mile High Fitness
  • Lisa Givens: Gourmet Away
  • Paul Grant: Ascender Communication
  • Tracey Grant: Ascender Communication
  • Monica Hernandez: American Health Association
  • Beza Jobira: Youth
  • Solwazi Johnson: Mind Fitness Training Institute
  • Brion Oaks: American Health Association – SW Affiliate
  • Mauricio Palacio: CDPHE – OHE
  • Chanell Reed: Healthy Beginnings (HB)
  • Terri Richardson, M.D.: CDC – R.E.A.C.H. Project Coalition Lead
  • Dennis Taylor: Cooking Matters Program
  • George Ware: Taking Neighborhood Health to Heart (TNHTH)

Subcommittee Members

  • Adrianna Hervey
  • Rahem Mulatu
  • George Ware
  • Joe Sammen
  • Ronica Rooks
  • Mabel Peters
  • Stanley Richardson
  • Remmy Campbell
  • Chris Bryant
  • Nkem Nwankwo
  • Rosalyn Reese
  • Keya Willis
  • Cerise Hunt
  • Francoise Mbabzi

Interested in joining the Centers for Disease Control REACH Committee?

Contact Us